Fig Balsamic…Train up a fig-tree in the way it should go, and when you are old sit under the shade of it.” Charles Dickens

 

Good Seasons Cruet/Fig Balsamic Dressing

So it is not a big cooking day around here and I got to wandering around the internet.  My chore of the day is salad and while I was digging around for my plastic cruet cap I wondered who invented the Good Seasons Cruet.  Oh come on you know you have one hiding in the cupboards, the Good Seasons Salad Dressing cruet…don’t feel bad, I have two and after years of other salad dressing gadgets, I probably will never purchase another high $ gadget.  Just a bit of history posted below and I was back in the kitchen preparing my dressing of the day using fig balsamic vowing never to purchase a high $ cruet again.   While I never use the V-W-O measurements on the bottle it remains the perfect vessel for salad dressing of all kinds. 

It seems that the GS cruets have been around forever and I find myself mixing one of the dry packet ingredients once or twice a year.  So have fun with your cruet.

“Robert Kreis the creator of Good Seasons Dressing included 2 envelopes of Good Seasons Salad Dressing and an “Attractive cruet-style Self Measuring Bottle and a recipe book in each of his Good Seasons Salad Dressing Kits. Chef Kreis, head chef of the famous Brown Derby, was also the legendary creator of Cobb Salad and Shake N Bake for chicken. An ancestor of his owned/owns Johnny P’s in California”

Fig Balsamic Dressing

¾ cups of a blend of EVOO, grape seed and walnut oil
¼ cup fig balsamic vinegar
1/8-1/4 teaspoon honey or agave syrup
1/8 teaspoon granulated garlic
Salt and pepper

Add vinegar to THE cruet, salt pepper, and honey, shake vigorously.  Add the oils and shake again.  Refrigerate until ready to use, shaking to blend just before serving…

Note:  I don’t like salad swimming in dressings and I find that THE cruet amount is plenty of dressing for at least 3 good-sized salads for two.  I lightly dress the salad and each person can add more if they like.

Today I fixed a big bowl of mixed spring greens, spinach, red leaf, Boston, and arugula lettuces.  A few goodies of fresh papaya, grated carrot, gorgonzola cheese, craisins, and red walnuts.

Fig Balsamic and Salad