Sautéed Pork Chops

Sautéed Pork Chops and Grilled Corn

It’s so beautifully arranged on the plate – you know someone’s fingers have been all over it.”
Julia Child

Sautéed Pork Chops inspired by a jar of Julia’s seasoning in the spice cabinet that I wonder why I made so much of, ¼ of a cup, and now that I have tasted it again on the chops, it must be used again…I recall when I first read the list of spices and ultimately tasted the blend, I couldn’t imagine the outcome, but as we all learn, trust Julia and the seasoned pork chops were fantastic the first time as were the chops last night.

A bit more chutney, a little porcini salt, and extra-virgin olive oil were a few changes that I made easy and quick dinner and perfect with the grilled corn.

Julia’s Sautéed Pork Chops
(Adapted from Julia Sautéed Pork Chops)

2 center-cut pork chops, trimmed of excess fat
1 TBSP EVOO
Pinches of Porcini salt
Freshly ground pepper
1/2 tsp Julia’s Special Spice Blend
1/4 cup dry vermouth
1/2 cup College Inn Bold Stock
2 sprigs of thyme
1 Tablespoon chutney (Major Grey’s)
1-1/2 Tablespoon butter

The pork chops were nicely trimmed of fat and I seasoned with EVOO, porcini salt, Julia’s seasoning, and freshly ground pepper.  Seasoned, covered, and refrigerated until 30 minutes before cooking time.

Heat a sauté pan over medium heat and brush with a little olive oil, sauté the chops until brown on each side – 3 minutes was perfect for me.  Add the stock, vermouth, and thyme to the pan, cover and simmer on low 4-5 minutes, turning once to cook about another 4 minutes.  Remove chops to plate, cover and reduce the pan juices slightly to a syrupy consistency, add chutney, whisk in and return chops to pan baste with sauce, plate chops and whisk in butter, serve sauce over chops.