Coca~Cola Cupcakes

Coca~Cola Cupcakes

“The only way that I could figure they could improve upon Coca-Cola, one of life’s most delightful elixirs, which studies prove will heal the sick and occasionally raise the dead, is to put rum or bourbon in it.”  LEWIS GRIZZARD, New York Times

As I always say, baking is not my favorite sport, but once a week or so I’ll bake a dessert and maybe some bread.  Thumbing through tons of recipes I recalled a note to self to try a Coca-Cola cake, or in this case cupcakes so I can give most of them away as we don’t normally eat a lot of desserts.

I wasn’t inspired by any particular recipe, no matter where I searched the basic ingredients for Coca-Cola cake didn’t change much from recipe to recipe and I finally settled on a couple of changes, I used no vegetable oil, just a stick of butter and I don’t know why I skipped the marshmallows, probably because I had none and never do.  I’m not going to advise you on a frosting for the cupcakes as again everyone has their version, but I have provided a link and you can search for other versions they all have a couple of things in common Coca-Cola and pecans.

1.  Sift 2 cups sugar and 2 cups flour together in large mixing bowl.
2.  Combine 1 teaspoon baking soda, ½ cup buttermilk, whisk in 2 eggs and vanilla.
3.  Heat 1 cup of coke, 1 stick of butter and 3 heaping tablespoons unsweetened cocoa, whisk until it reaches a low bubbly boil and remove from heat and stir into dry ingredients and finally add in the buttermilk mixture, stir to combine,  pour into cupcake liners or a buttered cupcake pan.

Bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes…test center with toothpick and remove when toothpick comes out clean.  Cool completely before frosting.

http://52cupcakes.blogspot.com/2010/02/things-go-better-with-coca-cola.html