Jean’s Hot Crab Dip

Steamed Crabs

You cannot teach a crab to walk straight.
Aristophanes
Not many changes to my friend Jean’s hot crab dip, but I like a touch of lemon zest, red onion, and I’m pretty picky about my seasoning, use Phillips Seafood Seasoning exclusively, 25 lbs or so in the freezer.    Anyway this gets my vote for game day munchies and while I have no particular favorite in the NE Pats vs Ravens, I find it odd/omen that I chose blue crab and Maryland’s Phillips Seasoning.  I wish both teams the best.

 Hot Crab Dip

 4 oz cream cheese, softened
½ cup Hellmann’s Olive Oil Mayonnaise
¼ cup finely chopped red onion
1 tbsp lemon juice and a little zest
½ tsp hot sauce
½ + tsp Phillips seafood seasoning or seasoned salt
8 oz fresh lump crab

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In medium bowl, thoroughly blend all ingredients except crab.  Stir in crab.  Lightly butter a small baking dish or casserole add dip and sprinkle a little seasoning over.  Bake 30 minutes or until heated through.  Serve with crackers or crostini.

Hot Crab Dip