Beef Stroganoff

Beef Stroganoff

The Washington Redskins set the record for the most yards gained in a Super Bowl in 1988 playing against Denver

 Beef Stroganoff
Inspired by a recipe from Fine Cooking and the only birthday dinner Steph wanted

I’m trying to get back into cooking from Fine Cooking and my second dish this week is Beef Stroganoff.  Now I have been making stroganoff for years and picked up a few tricks long the way that are successful for me at least.  The classic version in the magazine is pretty straight forward, but I took it a few steps further and added my own touches to give it big flavor.  Maybe I’ll get to make the new and updated version. Graham Elliot’s (love that guy) take using flat iron steak, but in the meantime I’ll give you a few pointers/changes that I make.

First of all I save all of the trimmings from a beef tenderloin which makes fantastic stroganoff, other beef trimmings are sautéed, deglazed with a little white wine, add 3 cups beef broth and reduce to about 1-1/2 cups, strain set aside until ready to add to the recipe.

As for the beef  I toss the beef slices with 2 cloves garlic minced sliced onion, chopped carrots, sprigs of thyme, 2 bay leaves, salt and pepper,  and about a quarter cup of white wine.  Toss well, cover and refrigerate, toss every now and then, allow to marinate for 30 minutes to 1 hour.  When ready to sauté the beef, remove carrots, bay leaves, thyme.  Follow your favorite recipe and try blending in 2 tablespoons Dijon, 1 tablespoon Coleman’s Dry Mustard, and a heaping teaspoon paprika.  Season the finished stroganoff with salt and pepper to taste. 

Try Julia Child’s stroganoff or take a look at Fine Cooking’s version
http://www.finecooking.com/recipes/classic-beef-stroganoff.aspx