“Beet” My Valentine Ravioli

Beet Ravioli

“Beet ever so onion there snow peas legume.”
Margaret Thornley ‘A Kick in the Seat of the Pants’, Roger von Oech

“Beet” My Valentine Ravioli

Ravioli can be a chore for one person and if you have never made ravioli don’t start with the recipe that I made, “Beet Ravioli with Goat Cheese, Chives, and Hazelnuts”.  This recipe will challenge you, but in the end it came out very good and I will make it again, great color for Christmas Holiday dinners and of course, Valentine’s Day.  Three of the rich pasta pillows is perfect for a first “primo” course.

I had a small bunch of beets that I thought were red, but they were gold and I was determined to make red beet ravioli so I got a late start and ended up making just half of the recipe which was still too much ravioli for two, I’m still trying to figure out what to do with the leftover dough.   I had to use quite a bit more flour, maybe ½ cup or so to get the dough to where I could put it through the pasta roller and still had to dust it through the process.  I love goat cheese, but I think that adding a bit of ricotta would lighten the cheese filling and would be a little creamier; perhaps it was the particular goat cheese that I used.  Red and brown walnuts had to stand in for hazelnuts, but I suppose pine nuts or macadamia nuts would work as well.

Another note, I froze the extra ravioli on a floured sheet pan and then packed them in a container in layers (plastic wrap between layers).

Rather than adapting the recipe I am providing a link, I don’t want to mess up the recipe or confuse anyone as my changes might not work for everyone.

Link to the recipe: http://theitaliandishblog.com/