Sweet Biscuits and Boozy Berries

Boozy Berries and Flat Sweet Biscuits

We do not rejoice in victories. We rejoice when a new kind of cotton is grown and when strawberries bloom in Israel.
Golda Meir

Not everything is a total success in cooking and my quest for the perfect sweet biscuit begins…Some pretty tasty strawberries made their way to my house so I’ve made sweet biscuits instead of shortcakes for dessert tonight.  Inspired by the sweet biscuit dough recipe by Loves2Teach that uses powdered sugar, a stick of butter and half and half, I ended up with at least a dozen biscuits for dessert, only 4 guests, so leftovers with jam or preserves might be in order.  I would use a smaller biscuit cutter next time, like a 2” instead of a 2 ½” cutter, the biscuits came out flat. Not as high and nice looking as her photo, but the flavor was good and I liked the addition of the powdered sugar, but found the biscuit too sweet for my taste.  So hopefully before NC’s strawberry season I will have found and made the perfect sweet biscuit.  If you have a recipe that you love, send it along and I’ll test drive it.  Everyone knows that I don’t bake often so I need all the help that I can get…

Preheat the oven to bake at 400 degrees and use an insulated baking sheet; mine are old so I brushed it lightly with PAM.

Blend Dry ingredients and sift through a mesh strainer into a mixing bowl.

2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
¾ cup powdered sugar

Cut in ¼ pound very cold butter, I cut into pieces and blended with a pastry cutter.
Add ¾ cup cold ½ + ½, mix until blended.

Flour a pastry board, dump the dough out and gently turn dough until all sides are covered with flour.  Pat into about 1 inch thickness and cut with floured cutter, collecting the scraps to make additional biscuits.  Place on baking sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes.  Mine took 17 minutes.  Cool on a rack, slice in half, and cover with strawberries and fresh whipped cream.

Brandied Strawberries-definitely the best part of the dessert and unsweetened whipped cream.   Clean and dry berries remove core and leaves, slice, sprinkle with a little sugar if needed and add several splashes of brandy. Mix, cover and refrigerate, toss the berries in their boozy juices often.