Quick Pizza Sauce

Quick Pizza Sauce

“You better cut the pizza in four pieces because I’m not hungry enough to eat six” Yogi Berra

Pizza Sauce

Some days I don’t have plenty of pizza sauce, maybe just a small container and not enough for 3-4 small pizzas…today is one of those days so I opened a can of pretty San Marzano tomatoes, peeled a carrot, quartered an onion, plucked some fresh herbs and a bay leaf, seasoned and “wined” it, tossed it all into a pot and simmered for about an hour, until the carrot was soft.  Remove the herb sprigs from the finished sauce, break up the carrot a little (the onion quarter should have broken apart), give it all a quick whiz with a stick blender, taste for seasoning.  At this point I add the little container of sauce from the last pizza night and simmer until it thaws in the sauce.  Now it is pizza ready, but taste and season to your taste.  You can go to the trouble of briefly sauteing the veggies and herbs in the EVOO, but why, remember the word quick and to me under an hour is quick.

1-28 ounce can whole San Marzano tomatoes
2 garlic cloves, peeled
1/4 of a small onion, peeled
1 small carrot , peeled and broken into chunks
1 sprig of thyme
1 sprig of fresh oregano, pull some of the leave off
2 fat basil leaves
1 small Bay leaf
2 teaspoons EVOO
a
sprinkling of dried marjoram
Salt and Pepper
a pinch of red pepper flakes
Splash of red wine

Virtual Pizza for Marisa and Jacob...

As I some times do, I try new pizza dough recipes and tonight I will taste test the latest of the easy pizza dough recipes that I like to use…gone are the days of  boring dough recipes around here as well as the time-consuming “master”recipes, I’ll report back.