Pizza Dough

“Ideas are like pizza dough, made to be tossed around” 
  Anna Quindlen
Fine Cooking had a pizza dough recipe in their current issue #116 and I made it two days ago, used part of the dough and froze the rest for another night.  All in all a good recipe, but as usual when I make a new recipe I have take notes especially when making pizza dough.  It is highly unlikely that a dough recipe comes out exactly the same in our climate so I adjust it along the way to get exactly what I want.  Pizza was very good and the only thing I have to say is that I did not get the dough thin enough for me…I like a thin crust, my fault for not rolling it thin enough and the recipe gave specific dough ball weights for different thickness of crusts.  It was late and I was tired, so kill me, there is not a slice left I might add.   I like to add a portion of semolina flour to any pizza recipe and often substitute honey for the sugar.  The recipe is easily doubled or tripled and there are two other variations including a whole-wheat and a cornmeal variation.  I did weigh out the dough balls and as shown in th magazine, 4 ounces of dough will roll out to a cracker-thin crust, 8 ounces to a Neoploitan-style regular, and finally 1-1/2 pound makes a Sicilian-style thick crust.  I will make this dough again!
So far there is no link to the recipe that I can find, just a mention of “coming soon” at FC  ” RECIPE MAKER: PIZZA—YOUR WAY, ANY DAY (Coming Soon!) by Zoë François and Jeff Hertzberg Mix the dough ahead and your favorite pizza is easy to make at home, even on a weeknight.”
Pizza Dough
Adapted from Fine Cooking Issue 116
1-3/4 cups warm water
1 Tablespoon EVOO
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1-1/2 teaspoon dry yeast, so maybe I had just a smidgen more
1-1/2 tsp granulated sugar
3-1/2 cups AP flour, I pass the flour through a fine strainer
1 cup semolina flour (or use all AP flour)
Put the water in large bowl, toss in the oil,, salt, yeast, and sugar, stir well to combine.  Add the flour and mix until uniformly moist, the dough will be quite wet; no kneading si necessary.  Allow to sit on counter, loosely covered with plastic wrap for at least 2 hours.  Do not punch the dough down, refrigerate for at least 3 hours before using.  After 2 days tightly cover the bowl to prevent the dough from drying out…can be refrigerated for at least 2 weeks or freeze 1/2 lb dough balls for up to 3 weeks.  Thaw overnight before using.
Virtual Pizza for Marisa and Jacob