Spaghetti Carbonara

Spaghetti Carbonara

Calvin Trillin’s Campaign to Make Spaghetti Carbonara the National Dish for Thanksgiving –the real story of the first Thanksgiving
http://www.rlrubens.com/Thanksgiving.html

Spaghetti Carbonara
Adapted from Bon Appétit

The challenge this week is to use a lot of what is in the pantry, freezer, and refrigerator, the goal not to go to the store until absolutely necessary, I’ll let you know how it goes during the course of the week, but for starters several easy dishes planned for this busy week and to start things off a carbonara recipe that my husband will appreciate, one of his favorite pasta dishes.  I could go to many versions of this recipe, but I have a current issue of Bon Appétit and will start there.

While I was reading the article it dawned on me that I didn’t have rigatoni, which I can imagine will swim nicely in a silky carbonara sauce, I’ll use either spaghetti or linguine and a combination of pancetta and crispy prosciutto all seasoned nicely with the pepper mélange, a little fresh parsley, and a combination of pecorino Romano and parmesan cheeses.

The amount of pepper that is called for is way too much for me a hefty and I love pepper, ¾ teaspoon each ground green peppercorns, pink peppercorns, and ½ teaspoon white pepper. but I’ll start with 1-1/2 teaspoons of a pepper mélange and go from there, as usual adding some ground red pepper flakes for a tiny portion of the pepper that is called for in the recipe.  I had a few of the Spanish green peppercorns in brine, drained and crushed a few of those to add to the other ground peppers.  I found that between the pancetta, prosciutto, and cheese I needed not salt.

Ingredients:

1/2 pound linguine, spaghetti, or rigatoni
3 egg yolks
1 whole egg
1 Tablespoon EVOO
¼ pound pancetta cubed and about 3 slices crispy prosciutto,
Save all of the rendered pancetta drippings as I know that I like to add more than a teaspoon that the recipe calls for
3/4 teaspoon freshly ground green peppercorns
3/4 teaspoon  ground pink pepper
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground white pepper
Or  (or 1 1/2–2 tsp. black pepper)
¾ cup of pecorino Romano and parmesan, reserve a little to serve at the table
Minced fresh parsley

Heat a pan with about 1 tablespoon EVOO and sauté the prosciutto until crispy, remove to paper towels.  Toss the pancetta cubes into the pan and sauté until almost crisp, remove to a large serving bowl, strain the rendered pancetta fat into a small bowl and set aside until ready to toss the pasta.  While pasta is cooking, whisk the eggs and add to slightly cooled pancetta, add a little pepper, 2 teaspoons or more of the pancetta drippings, and blend.  Drain pasta, reserving at least ¾ cup of the pasta water.   Toss the pasta into the egg mixture and working in 3 batches, gradually add the cheese, stirring and tossing to melt between batches.  Add some of the pepper and toss until the sauce thickens, adding more pasta water by the tablespoons full until the sauce thickens.  Season with salt, more pepper minced fresh parsley,  serve with additional cheese, a sprinkle of ground red pepper flakes, and a little parsley.Spaghetti CarbonaraCarbonara Eggs & Pancetta
Original recipe link:
https://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&aq=0&oq=Bon&ie=UTF-8&rlz=1T4GGHP_enUS472US472&q=bon+appetit+silkiest+carbonara&gs_upl=0l0l0l2299480lllllllllll0&aqi=g4s2&pbx=1