Great Vegetables of the Week

“Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon.”
Doug Larson
Bacon certainly improved one of my vegetable recipes this week, kale.  In fact Lura’s fresh picked Russian Kale simply braised in a little olive oil, diced pancetta, diced onion, chicken broth and a sprinkling of red pepper flakes, season with additional salt and pepper when finished.  Braised for about 20 minutes as this kale was young and tender…I love my friends that grow vegetables.
Braised Kale
The second great vegetable dish, Caprese using the recently available “Ugly” tomatoes, 1 small tomato perfect for each person,  fresh mozzarella and fresh basil leaves tucked between slices, drizzled with EVOO and red wine or balsamic vinegar, season with salt and pepper.  To start with don’t cut completely through the tomato, pretty aren’t they, hey Joyce nice for lunch or dinner.
Caprese and Olive Platter
The third vegetable dish is a baked artichoke casserole that I think I got from a television show, a lovely Italian lady making a short cut version and less messy version of stuffed artichokes.  Recipe upon request…means I need to find it as I just did my own thing using all of the ingredients that I have used in a stuffed artichoke recipe, but starting with frozen, thawed and drained artichoke hearts saves a ton of work, but not as fun as tearing through a baked stuffed artichoke.  Delicious!
Artichoke Casserole
I served the tomatoes and artichoke casserole with the Smoked BBQ wings and chicken breasts.