Blue Cheese & Caramalized Onion Burger

Blue Cheese-Caramelized Onion Burger
Half Gone

How do you make a cheeseburger sad? Make it with blue cheese!

Hope everyone had a great Memorial Day Weekend,  I’m sure that the entire nation had fantastic grill aromas wafting through the air all weekend and to include my neighborhood my contributions were grilled burgers, grilled clams, and pizza on the grill.  Fine cooking had a great section for burgers of all kinds in the #117 issue and I plan to try several more.

I had to post the recipe for the burger pictured above, too bad there was only a bite or three left by the time my camera battery was charged, but let me say that I will make this recipe again and perhaps show a whole burger.   Just for the record, I prefer my burger medium rare, others more done than that, too bad, but still tasty.

Adapted from Fine Cooking

2 Tbs. unsalted butter
2 medium yellow onions, chopped (about 2 cups)
1-1/2 lb. lean ground beef
1 Tbs. chopped fresh tarragon
1 Tbs. Dijon mustard
1 Tbs. Worcestershire sauce (preferably Lea & Perrins)
Vegetable oil, for the grill
4 oz. blue cheese, crumbled (about 1 cup) I had gorgonzola so I used that cheese
4 brioche or challah rolls, split and toasted I had deli-style rolls from the bakery

Prepare a medium-high gas or charcoal grill fire.

Melt the butter in a 12-inch skillet over medium-low heat. Add the onions and cook, stirring often, until golden and soft, about 20 minutes; reduce the heat to low if the onions begin to brown too quickly.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, thoroughly mix the beef, tarragon, mustard, and Worcestershire sauce with your hands. Form the mixture into four 1/2-inch-thick patties.

Oil the grill grate. Grill the burgers, covered, for 3 minutes. Flip the burgers and top with the cheese. Cover and continue to cook until an instant-read thermometer inserted into a burger registers 130°F for medium rare, about 4 minutes more, or 145°F for medium, about 6 minutes more.

When the burgers are nearly done, toast the rolls cut side down on the grill until browned and heated through, 1 to 2 minutes. Serve the burgers in the rolls, topped with the caramelized onions.