Red Clam Sauce & Clam Pizza

Red Clam Sauce

Grit ruins clam chowder,but enhances your character
~ Jonathan Lockwood Huie ~

I’m lucky enough to live on the Carolina coast and we have wonderful local seafood at least twice a week, one of my go to recipes for a quick dinner is red or white clam sauce with spaghetti or linguine. 

I always have shrimp or seafood stocks frozen in containers to use in seafood soups, stews and pasta dishes, but seem to never have enough clam broth on hand to add to a big pot of sauce unless I buy the bottled stuff as was the case the night I made the red sauce, so I added enough of a seafood stock to make up for the lack of clam broth.  The sauce was wonderful.  I started  with about 4 cups of a rich plain tomato sauce from last year’s tomatoes, sautéed some garlic and a little red pepper flakes in 1/4 cup EVOO.  In another saute pan with about 1/4 cup white wine I added the clams, covered the pan to steam and removed the clams as they just opened.  I did strain the broth to remove any sand that might have made it into the pan juices and after tasting the broth I decided that I needed a little more garlic  and a little fresh basil as the red sauce was not highly seasoned, then poured into the red sauce.  I simmered the sauce for at least thirty minutes, ladled a little sauce in the warmed pasta bowl added spaghetti, clams, a little more sauce and some minced parsley. 

Grated Cheese Optional, but a little crushed or ground red pepper flakes and I had a perfectly wonderful dinner.

The second favorite of mine in the last week was “Clam Pizza” starting with Fine Cooking’s Easy Pizza dough rolled out and brushed with EVOO and sprinkled with a touch of Italian seasoning, topped with juicy clams and some of the clam liquor, a blend of shredded mozzarella and grated parm and Romano, minced fresh parsley, and ground red pepper flakes and black pepper.  Bake in a 500° oven on a pizza stone for about 5 minutes.

Unbaked Clam Pizza

Clam Pizza