Weekend Cooking ~ Weiner Schnitzel and Butter Chicken

Two new favorites for dinner…Weiner Schnitzel and Butter Chicken

The inspiration for Mad Men dinners is getting pretty low since all they really do is drink, but I find Food Timeline a good source for 1960’s foods as well as past dining out episodes at famous restaurants and bars.  For the first June dinner I chose a menu item from Haussner’s in “Bawlmer” featuring “Out of Town”, Season 3/episode 1.  I’m was confused a bit thought they had dinner at the hotel with the stewardess and perhaps did, but the restaurant “13th floor” is closed for renovations and the mere mention of “Salsa Night” did not evoke thoughts of a Mad Men dinner unless of course you get Betty to do another around the world dinner…well anyway Haussner’s is closed forever and unless I wanted to spend $$$’s for an eBay menu I was left with menu item mentions and glimpses from various sources and since it was a German-style gaudy brewpub I figured that I couldn’t go wrong with Weiner Schnitzel, one of hundreds of items on the menu.  That and a simple classic spinach salad, dinner done.  I ended up made the 50’s -60’s “clam dip” and we ate a bit with Utz Ripples chips…

The veal is the usual 3 step process of breading and a brief saute in butter, white wine, lemon juice, and capers added to the pan drippings and reduced for a light sauce for the veal serve with additional lemon wedges. 

Rotisserie Butter Chicken

The butter chicken is a combination of two recipes that I will type up and post later.  I pierced the chicken pieces here and there before slathering on the sauce and marinated the chicken for a few hours, rotisserie grilled the chicken on medium low ~ 1-1/2 hours.  Delicious and better than cooking in the oven.

Toasted Quinoa & Corn Salad

My side dish was a quinoa and corn salad.  Sweet fresh corn, 1 minced jalapeno, a little chopped red onion, marinated artichokes, roasted red peppers, fresh basil, cilantro, oregano and toasted quinoa dressed with EVOO, squeezes of lemon and lime juice, a touch of white wine vinegar.  Blended adding a pinch of smoked paprika before serving.


Just to add a Mad Men note…I recall paying big bucks for a London Fog raincoat in the 60’s a small fortune in babysitting money.  Sam’s Club had a great selection of London Fog raincoats for $29.95 in several colors.