Vegetable Tart

Vegetable Tart

“Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie.”
Jim Davis, ‘Garfield’

Vegetable Tart

You would think that I had nothing better to do with my time, but a little rain inspired me as did a picture of a vegetable tart on Pinterest and while the instructions were not perfect, I had a pretty little tart, granted not as pretty and perfect as the one on Pinterest.  The first time making this was a bit of a challenge, but in the end, I knew that I could have it just as perfect or maybe even better the next time.

First of all there is no mention of the size of the tart and I only have 1 – 11 inch pan so I used that, next time an 8 or 9 inch pan or cut more zucchini and carrots that the recipe calls for and that would be too much tart.  In addition to that there is no mention as to what exactly do you do with the olive oil, I found that the tart needed a little more seasoning and next time a herb oil and a little garlic might perk it up, but in the end I have to say, I love this tart.

Use a vegetable peeler or mandolin to get thin slices of the carrots and zucchini.  I had a couple of yellow squash and added them as well.  I was trying to figure out what to do with the oil besides brushing it over the tart as I built it or when it was all done,  in the end just tossed the veggies in it and that is when I discovered that it is in fact the glue that will help stick the strips together while you build your circle of vegetable strips.

I didn’t have enough vegetables for the size pan that I was using so in the end, I simply gathered the dough up closer to my completed circle of vegetables.  Brushed with EVOO, sprinkled with fresh thyme leaves and baked for 25 minutes in a 350° oven.

The recipe calls for 4-5 tablespoons EVOO, 2 zucchini and 5 carrots, pastry dough, fresh thyme and pepper.  A little salt didn’t hurt either.

Prepare your dough in the tart pan, a prepared pie crust or puff pastry dough can be used.  They say to butter the pan and flour it, but I just buttered it as the pastry had enough flour on it from rolling it out. I began forming the center and when I had about 2-3 inch circle placed it in the center of the pan and continued until I used all of the vegetable strips.

I will make this again in a smaller pan…

Unbaked  Vegetable Tart