Cacio y pepe Something Cheesy and a Paloma

Cacio mine 2Moonstruck ~ after seeing La Boheme

Loretta Castorini:  That was so awful.
Ronny Cammareri: Awful?
Loretta Castorini: Beautiful… sad. She died!
Ronny Cammareri: Yes.
Loretta Castorini: I was surprised… You know, I didn’t really think
  she was gonna die. I knew she was sick.
Ronny Cammareri: She had TB.
Loretta Castorini: I know! I mean, she was coughing her brains out,
  and still she had to keep singing!

Oh do I love this spaghetti, simple, plain, satisfying, and easily can transport one to Rome on a dreary day in NC… simple ingredients and a quick preparation transforms this into a “stuff my face” pasta dinner by the fire or better yet while watching “Moonstruck”, perrrrfect.  The picture is of my bowl of spaghetti…more pepper of course.

My fricos are normally served with salads or soups, but I chose not to make a salad at the last-minute and the frico became Mikey’s new bowl for his otherwise plain pasta cacio y pepe yet another cheesy recipe from my quick dinner book.

My now preferred bowl for Cacio y Pepe,  then I find that Anthony Bourdain mentions this dish on one of his shows (can’t hardly think beyond his old “Kitchen Confidential” book so I bypassed the info and made my own version which is not at all unlike the recipe that someone else posted.

Michael was still talking about the little crispy bowl this morning good thing I order my Parmigiano by the 5 lbs, but this will not be on every menu in the future.

The spaghetti is easy; undercook your spaghetti of choice by at least 2-3 minutes according to the package direction time. Save about 1-1-1/2 cups for 6 ounces of cooked spaghetti. Three tablespoons of unsalted butter, about 3/4 tablespoon of freshly ground pepper, and at least one cup of freshly grated Pecorino Romano completes the ingredients list. I prefer to finish the spaghetti in a pan, but the best thing is to do what works for you and for another link try:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRc9OgrzpNU

To a hot sauté pan add 1 cup boiling pasta water, the butter, and the pepper. Toss the pasta into the pan turning and tossing until just about all of the water is absorbed, remove from heat add the cheese and stir into coat all the spaghetti.

As for the frico bowls I eyeball the amount of microplaned cheese  that goes into my 6″ Bialetti nonstick pan (brushed with a little EVOO) on a med low heat, evenly coated with 1/2-3/4 cup grated parm…best thing to do is consult a “real recipe” if you’ve never made them as there are recipes for making them in the oven as well, example is: http://lacucinaitalianamagazine.com/recipe/cestini_di_formaggio_con_verdure_e_bresaola

Paloma ~ Paloma III

Pour some kosher salt on a plate. Rub half of rim of a highball  glass with a grapefruit wedge; dip rim of glass in salt.  Combine 1/4 cup fresh grapefruit juice, 1 tablespoon fresh lime  juice, and 1 teaspoon sugar in glass; stir until sugar  is dissolved. Stir in 1/4 cup mescal or tequila, add ice, and top off with 1/4 cup club  soda. Garnish with grapefruit wedge.