Cheap Greens & Expensive Chicken

Dandelion Greens V

Right now I’d love to be sitting on a Greek island somewhere because of being Greek American, eating great octopus salad and some fantastic lamb. Or sipping a little ouzo. I think the Mediterranean diet is one of the healthiest… Lots of nuts, vegetables, fruits, fresh fish, lean meats, yogurt.
Cat Cora

I’m a huge fan of dandelion greens, not the ones that grow in one’s lawn with bright yellow flowers, but tall leafy ribs a little on the bitter side and with a quick blanching and chilled down in iced water, dried off then a quick sauté in garlic oil (touch of red pepper flakes), finally seasoned with a little salt and pepper.  I love them as a side dish or a nice bit of greens for an Italian pork or sausage sandwich.

We had the greens with a simple cheese stuffed chicken breast, wrapped in prosciutto adapted from numerous recipes.

Dandelion Greens and Stuffed Chicken Breast II

The little tidbit background here is that Mike bought a really expensive thin slice “smart chicken” boneless breast, I ended up getting another one so two of us could have dinner, that chicken was pretty smart after all figured that I would need a matched pair so they would taste and cook the same.  Not sure that I would buy the pricey chicken again, but they made for a touch of luxury ($$$) for a weeknight dinner and a lesser quality in a restaurant would probably cost twice the price.

I pounded them thinner to an even thickness, seasoned with salt and pepper stuffed them with Fontina cheese, rolled them, wrapped them with slices of prosciutto, briefly seared on all sides and finished in the oven (375°) to a temperature of 160°.  Served with as suggested by Barbara Lynch, a tomato salad that reminds me of a light Italian or Greek salad depending on the type of olives that you use.

Tomato Salad for Stuffed Chicken Breasts

I love the chicken with a squeeze of fresh lemon.

Stuffed Chicken Breasts Sliced