Eggplant Parmesan Stacks

Eggplant Stacks.jpg II

“Learn how to cook — try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless and above all have fun.”
Julia Child

Eggplant Parmesan Stacks

Recipe adapted from Mario Batali

I don’t often make Mario’s recipes, but while I was perusing my saved recipes the one thing that I decided was that I wasn’t in the mood for my long tedious eggplant recipes just for the two of us and with that said neither was I in the mood for the mess that I always make in the kitchen.  Mario’s recipe lightens things up a bit, no flour, eggs, and crumbs for the dredging process and no frying in oil and it severely cuts back on what usually is a sink full of dirty dishes and pots and pans.

Since the sauce was in the freezer, but needed more tomatoes to thicken the sauce the cooking process was a lot shorter than all of my other versions that in itself is worth trying the recipe and whether you use a prepared sauce or make his is up to you.  Needless to say I didn’t make the full recipe and one eggplant was plenty for 3 stacks.  I thought the slices 1″ cut was too thick but it wasn’t at all after they were roasted.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/mario-batali/eggplant-parmigiana-recipe/index.html