JD’s Oysters in Spicy Bacon Butter

JD's Oysters. III jpg

“As I ate the oysters with their strong taste of the sea and their faint metallic taste that the cold white wine washed away, leaving only the sea taste and the succulent texture, and as I drank their cold liquid from each shell and washed it down with the crisp taste of the wine, I lost the empty feeling and began to be happy and to make plans.”

Earnest Hemingway/A Moveable Feast

I normally would not go to much work or get too fancy with oysters and stick with Hemingway’s “recipe”, but I have to say that I really liked the recipe for oysters with spicy bacon butter passed along to me, I adapted the recipe using Jack Daniel’s instead of I don’t recall which other brand of  bourbon.  In any case a half pound of butter seasoned with garlic, shallots, red pepper flakes, salt & pepper, a pinch or two of Phillip’s seafood seasoning and finely chopped bacon, dollops to top bourbon marinated fresh oysters.  Bake or broil briefly to crisp the bacon and the oyster will curl into the shell ready to be slurped down as soon as you can handle the hot oyster shell.  The butter is enough for about 5 dozen oysters, maybe more.

Sounds crazy but marinate (6-8 hours) the shucked oysters in 1/4 cup oyster liquor, 1/2 cup good bourbon, a teaspoon of light brown sugar, and a pinch of salt.  I marinated about 20 oysters…If you like shucking fresh oysters, go for it, but if you have access to the freshest available shucked oysters in the jar (drain saving liquor and lightly rinse the oysters) use those.  We have oysters often so I save shells for recipes like this if I use shucked oysters.   Small ramekins can also be used.