Cabo Wabo Chili

Cabo Wabo Chili

“The chile, it seems to me, is one of the few foods that has its own goddess.”
Diana Kennedy

Cabo Wabo Chili ~ Makes 5-6 Quarts

I know that I’m not alone when I allow the weather forecast to dictate what will be on the dinner menu and today is no different as we go from the upper 50°s temperature to almost freezing again tonight and for the next several days. So no grilling for me!

Being inspired by the weather is not an entirely bad thing, but being inspired by a corn chip is a little wacky in that it started a strange string of thoughts along the lines of chili in a corn chip bag (chili corn chip pie) that I had many years ago. Well anyway I am just an hour or so away from Cabo Wabo Chili which took me about 20 minutes to make once I gathered all of the ingredients.

I wasn’t going to use black-eyed peas so I had to go with the dry pinto beans quick cook method that turned out to be 2-1/2 hours shorter cooking time than the recipe I found so I’m still way ahead of schedule if I was the type of person to keep a schedule as I sit and the pot of chili simmers on the range.

Ingredients pulled from the pantry:

½ pound of dried pinto beans either soaked overnight or quick cooked method
*(2-3 or 4 cans of beans if you have them)
2 cans of Hunt’s chili sauce
2 cans of petite diced tomatoes
1 can diced green chili peppers
2 boxes of 2 alarm chili mix or (1 box plus the equivalent of the same spices from the spice rack)
Salt and pepper to taste (usually what is in the chili mix is plenty for me)
I like to toast the spices, but not necessary
1 can-12 ounces can low sodium V-8 or Zing Zang’s Bloody Mary Mix

1 large Cubanelle pepper, diced or 2 roasted poblano peppers, diced
2 fat cloves of garlic, minced
1 small to medium onion, small diced

¼ – ½ cup Cabo Wabo Tequila
1 pound ground beef
1 pound homemade Italian sausage or whatever sausage you can find

Brown the sausage and beef in a large Dutch oven over medium high heat, add the onion and garlic about half way through the browning process. Toss in Cabo Wabo; let it sizzle for about 30 seconds and begin to add in all of the other ingredients ending with the beans once the chili comes up to a simmer, cover and stir often for a couple of hours.

Cabo Wabo Chili III

Garnish with chopped green onions and grated cheese (Manchego tonight). No I’m not serving corn chips, but I’m sure Michael will find them and crumble them into his bowl of chili while a nice cheese corn muffin will be fine for me.