Swiss Chard and Baby Kale Salad

Swiss Chard and Baby Kale Salad IV
“Where kale is a super food, not decoration on my plate!”
 Diana Dyer, MS, RD

A chard and kale salad recipe caught my eye the other day, but the particular kale, Dino kale was not available, I substituted baby kale and can I say what a great salad a nice change in the winter salad category, really any time of the year is good for this salad.  I was surprised that my diners enjoyed it as it was a new to them recipe a big hit and we just sat and ate N’awlins BBQ shrimp, sopping up the BBQ “sauce” and enjoyed this lovely salad.

You have to plan ahead so the mango and papaya ripen, I also added a nectarine, but consider other fruits to add.

Tossed Salad Ingredients

3 ounces baby kale, thoroughly rinsed and drained
1 bunch of red Swiss chard, the tougher part of the stems trimmed, but include some of the red stems, diced
1/2 cup almonds or sunflower seeds (toasted and chopped)
Gorgonzola or Roquefort cheese (crumbled)
1 ripe mango, diced
1 Fuji Apples (cubed)
1 nectarine, diced
1 Papaya

Dressing-thoroughly blend:

  • 6 Garlic cloves, grated on microplane
  • 2-inch piece of peeled ginger root grated on microplane
  • 1/3 cup Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1/3 cup Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper