Dave’s Ribs, Durkee’s Deviled Eggs, and Tuscan Potato Salad

The  other thing is quality of life; if you have a place where you can go and have a  picnic with your family, it doesn’t matter if it’s a recession or not, you can  include that in your quality of life.
Jim  Fowler

Several good recipes that I made last week to talk about from the simple deviled eggs made with a good old standby condiment to the slow and low grilled smoked ribs, more involved in the prep and cooking times.  There were of course a few potato recipes a Sicilian-style gratin (oven bake or grill indirect method) that I was reminded of in another discussion, grill roasted rosemary potatoes and asparagus with crumbled goat cheese and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar or crema de tondo, and another fantastic potato salad for Mother’s Day dinner, Tuscan-style a hugely adapted version of Debbie Moose’s. Deviled Eggs Durkee's Famouse Sauce

One rib recipe that I have been anxious to try, also hugely adapted, from Famous Dave’s recipe that I refer to as “I cheated on Famous Dave with Adam Perry Lang recipe”.  You see I was having a tough time getting the grill down to 200°-225° so I was a little behind and had to abandon FD”s BBQ sauce for the most part pulling several seasoning ingredients from it and added them to APL’s sauce that I already had made up and in the freezer.Famous Dave's Ribs

Sicilian Scalloped Potatoes I-horz

Another new favorite was a rather quick and delicious gumbo with scallops, not the norm but certainly delicious.  That I will have to dedicate an entire page to as I adapted a recipe from a cookbook and I haven’t had time to write the recipe, but I have noted my changes, so look for it soon.

Not much to report in the dessert department, a fantastic Bourbon bread pudding and a new favorite and easy grapefruit gelato that has me on the lookout for a gelato machine so I can make the real stuff. Bourbon Bread Pudding II

Favorite condiments of the week…Durkee’s Famous Sauce (deviled eggs), Hidden Valley Farm House Originals (Italian dressing) great for marinating, and my favorite seafood seasoning Phillips that I use in many, soups sauces, marinades etc.

bottle_fho_homestyle_italian[1]-horz