Texas Cowboy Skillet Brisket Hash

Slap some bacon on a biscuit and let’s go! We’re burnin’ daylight!” – Wil Andersen, The Cowboys

While I think of the taste of a good hash a refreshed recipe with BBQ brisket instead or roast beef or corned beef I think it only right to make it in a cast iron skillet, kind of like the one on my version of Cast Iron on the Home Range and while my pan is mere 35 years old, it still remains as the Go-To pan no matter what brand of other pans I have on hand. Perfect for a crispy crusty breakfast lunch or dinner hash.

We loved the BBQ brisket on Sunday and after another sandwich I thought it time to ‘Seal-a-meal” it for another breakfast lunch or dinner…great for dinner on a big shopping day and loads of potatoes from the farm stands later, we have TCSBH, delicious as is or with a couple of fried eggs and hot peppers.

I have no particular recipe to refer to simply cubed, briefly steamed potatoes, chopped onion, garlic, and red pepper. As much brisket as you choose to use and some of the brisket sauce to toss into the almost done hash. Sauté all the veggies and potatoes until the potatoes start to get brown and crispy then toss in the beef continuing to cook for several minute, 5-6 and then add the brisket sauce turning into the hash…serve piping hot.