TJ’s & Marcella Hazan’s Tomatoes and Sauce

Winter Cat Guarding the Snow...

So who needs big city life?

Grover: “Six years in grade school, five years in high school-everything I ever ran for, I was always running against the same Johnny Walton… The greatest day of my life was when I beat John Walton out for senior class president. I don’t think he ever lost any sleep over it. Now I’m an ambitious man – some would say successful; probably it’s all John’s fault. I was always running; he was always going past me at a walk. And here it is, 25 years later-here I am, and there’s John. Then look at me… and some of you… still running, still wearing ourselves to a frazzle for all sorts of things that John Walton has accumulated while he was out walking – a happy home, a fine wife and children. We’re sitting here well fed at John’s table, and I’m still boy enough to be graveled at the sight of him. ‘John – the boy most likely to succeed.’ Well, he’s the boy who did.” 

Sorry my photos were so lousy this week, I really have to sift through them to see what was worthy of posting…actually several dishes were very good and I will move on with that tomorrow.  For tonight a simple sauce made with the unsalted plum tomatoes that I purchased today…

Marcella Hazan Sauce ingredients 2

 

Marcella Hazan’s Tomato Sauce – and I do toss in a clove of garlic

Pomodoro Sauce 2

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups tomatoes, with their juices (for example, a 28-ounce can of San Marzano whole peeled tomatoes) or the unsalted plum tomatoes from Trader Joe’s
  • I had several heirloom small tomatoes and tossed those in as well
  • 5 tablespoons butter
  • 1 onion, peeled and cut in half
  • Salt
  • Optional fresh basil leaves

Combine the tomatoes, their juices, the butter and the onion halves in a saucepan. Add a pinch or two of salt.

Place over medium heat and bring to a simmer. Cook, uncovered, for about 45 minutes. Stir occasionally, mashing any large pieces of tomato with a spoon. Add salt as needed.

Discard the onion before tossing the sauce with pasta. This recipe makes enough sauce for a pound of pasta.

We finally got to Wilmington and Trader Joe’s!  Our primary goal was to come away with very nice wines for very reasonable prices…14 bottles for about $80 bucks, not bad and since I had tried several of them before purchasing them again I felt good in that the list was safe with Michael while I finished the food shopping.  Certainly better than hearing “are we done yet” and he made new friends that offered great suggestions to fill in where some of the wines were not available and made great choices in a few white wines that he likes.  Yea, mission accomplished!  He loves the store, as I did and even found his personal food selections in cereals etc. so it was a fantastic trip for both of us.  We both enjoyed the fact that it didn’t have 27 aisles!

Okay nuff said, but most of you will not understand my excitement as you may have a TJ’s just around the corner, but for us it is 1 hour 45 minutes rt on a good day so we do our best to enjoy the trip to “Hollywood East” and return home before the bases’ rush hours begin.  Normally the excitement of lunch out is good enough, but after this trip lunch took a back seat to our successful “food shopping” adventure and lunch was even rated below my “phone update” experience…like a kid at Christmas was I today.

At one point in the day we had a brief conversation of how nice it would be to live in a large town that had everything, but after going through all of the traffic etc., we were glad to be home and decided, the hell with a nice condo in big town, by a cheap lot and build a small house.

Yes indeed it was a fun day and we are settled back in and I look forward to this week’s cooking adventures with some of the TJ’s goods.