Da’s Farmer Burger Breakfast


“A true friend is someone who thinks that you are a good egg even though he knows that you are slightly cracked.”

~Bernard Melzer~

 Oh so many years ago there was what I like to call a gentlemen farmer and he introduced me to the simplest breakfast that I still make when I have great tomatoes…No real recipe, just a nice juicy pan seared burger patty, a sliced tomato fresh from the garden and a beautiful fried egg (cooked his egg sunny side up where I prefer mine over easy) all gently seasoned with salt and pepper. No, he didn’t have fresh eggs, but I finished one of the last fresh eggs that a friend brought me perfect! I bless those chickens every time I hear them cluck.

This was my breakfast the other day, fond memories indeed and I don’t recall how “done his burger was, mine medium rare and I love the crusty brown sear on both sides.

A very hot pan dusted with a little kosher salt, slap the patty on for about two minutes, flip and cover the pan to finish the burger…this was his method and I haven’t changed it to this day.