Rain Rain and Ramen

Dark and Stormy 2

Outside my window

 And when it rains on your parade, look up rather than down. Without the rain, there would be no rainbow.

Gilbert K. Chesterton

It has been a wet weekend so far and while I planned to make a pot of soup I decided to do something more productive with my day (bake) so for a quick-lunch I dug out a container of “16 + hour” ramen broth and some taré for a yummy bowl of ramen with additions of whatever else I found in the vegetable drawer.  Some baby kale, and fresh Bella mushrooms was a good start so within 15 minutes I was slurping away the gentle smoky broth and reminding myself how rewarding a big pot of ramen broth is and vowed to make another huge pot in the near future, perhaps the next rainy several days.

Ramen again

Ramen with Kale, Mushrooms and sriacha

Dinner and catching up with Hell on Wheels before the season opener-1 pan pasta and clams…another quick pasta dish to use up some of “Jacob’s” garlic butter.

One pot Pasta and Clams

I liked that quick cooking pasta recipe that I made last week and decided to give it a try with some of the ingredients that I use in clam sauce, just a bit more than a minimalist version …

Any amount of clams for two people— (1 and 1/2 dozen very small little neck clams)
About a tablespoon of Jacob’s garlic butter or butter if you like
2 fat cloves of roasted garlic, mashed
1-2 tablespoons EVOO and more to drizzle over finished pasta
6 ounces of spaghetti or linguine
2 ½ cups water
Fresh herbs, basil, oregano, 1 bay leaf
Lemon wedges and a squeeze of lemon juice
Pinches of red pepper flakes
Salt and pepper to taste
Garnish with fresh parsley, minced and a little more red pepper flakes
A pan large enough to hold the spaghetti and clams

One Pot Pasta with Clams (2)

Put everything in the pan and bring to a boil, turning down the heat a little to cook away for about 9 minutes depending on how you want your pasta cooked, al dente for me.  I tossed the clams in as well and plucked them out as they opened during the cooking process, set aside add back the last-minute or so of cooking and toss with the pasta.  Taste for seasoning.

Crazy good and very adaptable to your own taste, I had enough spaghetti left for lunch today.

One Pot Pasta with Clams

Side note:  It was just me for dinner so I pulled up the bar stool to the island, set the pan on the counter and armed myself with a fork, a glass of wine, napkins a bowl to toss the clam shells into when empty, red pepper flakes and ate right out of the pan…so there!

images