Warm Saké, Tuna Tataki & Hell on Wheels

Tuna Tataki 3

Thomas ‘Doc’ Durant: Mr. Gundersen, have you ever had your heart ripped out by a woman?

The Swede: I was married once, sir, but she ran off with a gypsy. My heart was not ripped out but she did steal my cuckoo clock.

 Tuna Tataki-Raw

 

What could be better than a fine piece of fresh yellowfin tuna tataki at home? Oh don’t answer that as I am sure that you all have your favorite dinners to consider. I have been trying to catch the most recent episodes of Hell on Wheels so I found myself once again at the kitchen island having a tasty treat and watching the show on a 19″ TV instead of the massive somewhere in the 50″ range TV in the family room where you almost feel like you can step into the set and get off the train at the depot somewhere in Wyoming Territory.

A few things that you can count on with me, seafood recipes, always a little heat to my personal dish and something Asian at least once a week. The hell on wheels tataki sauce evolved from the standard ingredients for tataki sauce and my love of heat this time in the form of “hot” sesame oil. I tossed together my own tataki sauce so I didn’t measure anything, but the basics are in chef Puck’s recipe and a quick Google will result in other good tataki sauces.

I kind of followed Wolfgang Puck’s recipe for tataki style so I can link to that if you want the full recipe:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tuna-tataki-recipe.print.html

Tuna Tataki Sauce the kind that you taste and adjust…
2 chopped green onions, some for the sauce and some to serve with the tuna
a few sprigs of fresh parsley leaves, chopped
a 1 inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and grated with a microplane
2 tablespoons Saké
1-1/2 tablespoons light or low sodium soy sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil, hot or regular
3 tablespoons ponzu sauce or to taste

Tataki
Adapted Wolfgang Puck recipe

Tataki-style, on a shallow plate stir together the ginger, sesame seeds, and cracked black pepper. For the tataki, use a sharp knife to cut 1/2-inch-deep notches at regular intervals of 1/4 to 1/2 inch along the length of the tuna, to make it easier to slice after searing. Season the tuna with salt and roll it in the ginger mixture, pressing down lightly to make the coating adhere on all sides.

For the tataki preparation heat a sauté pan over high heat. Add the peanut oil and, when it is hot, sear the tuna on all sides, 30 seconds to 1 minute per side, turning it with tongs. Remove the tuna from the pan and set aside. Add the lime juice to the pan and quickly stir and scrape to deglaze the pan deposits, then drizzle the deglazing liquid over the tuna.  Serve with dipping sauce…

  1. Tanoshinde kudasai 楽しんでください


     

    ぼうちゅうかんあり (bouchuu kan ari)
     Even when you’re very busy, there’s occasionally time to take a rest.