Spring Fresh Ham

iPhoto

I lied on my Weight Watchers list. I put down that I had 3 eggs… but they were Cadbury chocolate eggs. ~ Caroline Rhea


Yesterday once again while it was a beautiful sunny day that brought us below average temperatures here in coastal Carolina, so we fired up the fire-pit turned on some favorite tunes, enjoyed the sun slightly bundled up and view of the canal activity while the stuffed ham roasted in the oven.  Sadly I didn’t consider the grill rotisserie early enough, but the roast came out very nice from the oven.  A large fresh ham is also perfect for an Easter dinner…

My favorite recipe is not really a recipe with ingredient amounts, but just eyeballed amounts to fit the approximate fill amount of the boneless fresh ham that is just opened up enough to stuff then seasoned and tied.  I always have enough of the stuffing to use at a later date, perhaps stuffed pork chops.

iPhoto

The stuffing that I made was simple just chopped dried apricots, toasted pine nuts, and finely chopped prosciutto.  Since I happen to have another fresh ham in the freezer I made enough stuffing for 2-3+ pound hams.  Hopefully you can get a boneless fresh ham or have your butcher remove it for you… I had to take the bone out of my little ham then seasoned the inside with salt and pepper,  stuffed and rolled it back into shape finally tied it with kitchen string in 4 places.  Slather the roast with good olive oil, season the entire outside of the roast again with salt and pepper, tuck a few rosemary sprigs under the strings.  Pierce the ham in several places and place 1/2 of a garlic clove in each slit roast at 350º for about 1 hour 40 minutes.  I don’t like over cooked pork so I roasted the ham to  140-145º and allowed it to sit for 15 or so minutes before carving.  While my small fresh ham wasn’t exactly as beautiful as a 8 + pounder, it certainly was delicious with plenty left to slice as thinly as I can for some great Italian style pork sandwiches.  iPhoto

Notes:  I roasted the ham on a rack sitting high enough from the pan to toss in a few red potatoes to roast under the pork, toss in a chopped carrot as well.  Add a little white wine to the pan from time to time, make pan sauce from the pan drippings.

iPhoto

Pour roasting pan drippings into fat separator cup and skim fat. Place the roasting pan over medium high heat and add  1/2 cup white wine, stirring and scraping up brown bits, until the wine is reduced by half. Add 1 tablespoon flour and whisk to combine and cook for a minute or so, then slowly add 1 1/2 -2 cups broth Slowly whisk in drippings and broth. Cook, whisking, until sauce thickens slightly, 3 minutes. Serve with pork.