Fresh Clams – Pizza

iPhoto

Children want to mimic adults. They notice when you choose to prepare fresh vegetables over calling in another pizza pie for dinner. They will see that food made with love and care outweighs going through the drive-through window.
Marcus Samuelsson

iPhoto

I made the best clam pizza for dinner last night and it was all mine!  I won’t expect that anyone will understand or even care about  the intense flavor that I created with an oil/white wine steaming “broth” reduced to less than a shot glass amount that I brushed over the crust, but suffice it to say it was worth the effort.  Each bite of the pizza was delightfully flavored beyond a bite of clam…I didn’t pour a ton of cheese over the pizza just a nice amount of Pecorino Romano and Parmigiano-Reggiano.  A sprinkle of red pepper flakes and fresh torn oregano leaves.  Baked on unglazed tiles in a 500º oven for approximately 7 minutes.  Normally I would drizzle with EVOO, but I just couldn’t toss the oil/broth reduction and since I devoured the rest of the clams there was not a clam sauce entering the men plan anytime soon…one never knows, I just might need another excuse to make he oil.

iPhoto

I made  Peter Reinhart’s Napoletana Pizza Dough Recipe Napoletana Pizza Dough recipe one of the most successful doughs that I use when not in a hurry for pizza.  The only thing that I change is when I cut the dough into 6 pieces, I immediately place them in a small zip bag that has been oiled, just put a bit of oiling the ag and squish around to coat the bag.  Pop the dough ball in, seal and refrigerate overnight or as the recipe further instructs.

iPhoto

 

*I made the dough using 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 – 00 flour

http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/001199.html