Carrots and Chicken Milanese

iPhoto

Once in his life, every man is entitled to fall in love with a gorgeous redhead – Lucille Ball

I loved my dinner last night delicious chicken Milanese, carrots cooked in carrot juice, seasoned with fresh tarragon and a side green salad with prosciutto dressing…

Oh yea, I’m sure at some point in your life you have served carrots and heard someone say, “I hate cooked carrots” I know that I have heard that from my own child, but there are now two recipes that will shut the mouths of carrot haters everywhere.   The first is my favorite standby, carrots Vichy and my new favorite, Sean Brock’s  carrots braised and glazed in carrot juice, and to take it one step further I saved the small amount of glaze for another batch of carrots, I could eat a plate of them.

Perhaps chef Brock assumes that everyone owns a juicer, I don’t, but carrot juice  is readily available in the grocery stores and works just fine and the biggest advantage is carrot juice also comes in rather small bottles much like I wish buttermilk would be packaged in a smaller liquid measure than a quart.

The recipe as it appears in my book, Heritage – Sean Brock

I made just a few carrots for two of us and they were not baby carrots, but fresh small carrots…adapt to your needs

42 baby carrots 
Juice of 1 orange
2 Tablespoons unsalted butter
1 Tablespoon  fresh tarragon, chopped
1 Tablespoon fresh chervil, chopped (very seldom to I ever find fresh and either skip it or use a few pinches of dried chervil)

Remove the tops of the carrots.  Save a few tops for garnish, preserve in ice water.  Peel and rinse the carrots.  Run 12 of the carrots through an extractor.  Remove pulp and run through the extractor 2-3 more times to extract all the juice.

Place the remaining carrots, the orange juice, and carrot juice in a large saucepan set over medium-high heat, cover, bring to simmer, and cook until the carrots are fork tender 6-8 minutes  (larger carrots will take longer than 8 minutes).  Increase the heat to high to begin reducing the liquid.  When the liquid is reduced to a glaze after about 3 minutes, remove from the stove, add the butter, and stir to emulsify it with the reduced juices.  Add the herbs and stir to coat the carrots.  Plate and garnish with carrot tops.

Note:  Since I only made enough carrots for two, about 7-8 medium fresh carrots, 1/4 cup orange juice and 1/2 a bottle of carrot juice (15.2 ounce bottle).  The carrots are smaller than the big ones that you buy in the 1 or 2 pound bags.

iPhoto

Chicken Milanese – I’m not fond of boneless chicken breasts, so I made the cutlets using chicken thighs and they were very tender and juicy.

Serves 4

4 boneless skinless chicken thighs or chicken breasts, gently pounded to an even thickness and seasoned with salt and pepper

Set up breading station and crack two eggs into one, scramble and seasoning with salt and pepper
Sift about 3/4 cup flour into another tray and season with salt and pepper

Have ready about 1 and 3/4 cups panko crumbs seasoned with pepper, finely chopped parsley, 1/4 cup finely grated parmesan, zest of 1/2 a lemon and blend…use only 1/2 of the crumbs at a time in the tray.  Coat each piece in seasoned flour then into the egg, turning to thoroughly coat and finally into the seasoned panko crumbs, turning to coat.  Lay each breaded cutlet on a baking rack over a cookie sheet or sheet pan, refrigerate until ready to fry.  Heat a sauté pan over med high heat, add about 3 tablespoon EVOO, sauté cutlets for about 4-5 minutes on each side (turn head down if too hot) or until golden, keep warm on warm platter.  Serve with lemon wedges

Great leftovers, might have to make a chicken parmesan sandwich for lunch.