Rose’s Easy Summer Fresh Tomato Marinara & Chicken Parmesan


“I took another slug of my coffee—like most of my old boyfriends, it was strong, dark, Italian and slightly bitter. . .”
– Rosie Genova, Murder and Marinara

iPhoto


2 pounds TJ’s 
Heavenly Villagio Marzano Tomatoes or 1-28 ounce of San Marzano tomatoes
¼ cup extra-virgin olive oil
splash of red wine
1 large carrot, halved
5 peeled and smashed cloves of garlic
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 small sprig of fresh oregano
2 sprigs of fresh basil
1/4 teaspoon + or – red pepper flakes
1-4 inch piece of parmesan or Romano

Nothing could be easier than a fresh tomato marinara and of course San Marzano tomatoes make the best and richest sauces that are simply enhanced with a few fresh herbs, garlic and a good olive oil.  My particular way of sweetening any tomato sauce is a big carrot and a chunk of cheese rind.  The cheese rind melts into the sauce and gives it a big burst of flavor.  I see them in some of the store deli case areas along with the grated cheese and of course if you grate your own cheese save the rinds and freeze them for soups and sauces.  I never have less than 4-5 stashed away and along with marinara one in a big pot of pasta fagiole is fantastic.

Rose’s Fresh Tomato Marinara
2 pounds TJ’s Heavenly Villagio Marzano Tomatoes or 1-28 ounce of San Marzano tomatoes
¼ cup extra-virgin olive oil
splash of red wine
1 large carrot, halved
5 peeled and smashed cloves of garlic
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 small sprig of fresh oregano
2 sprigs of fresh basil
1/4 teaspoon + or – red pepper flakes
1-4 inch piece of parmesan or Romano

Sauté the carrot and smashed garlic cloves in the olive oil until the oil has a fragrant garlic aroma, add tomatoes and heat for several minutes splash in the wine and cook for about 2 minutes, finally toss in the rest of the ingredients and simmer for 20 minutes, taste then simmer until the marinara is thickened another 15-20 minutes.

PhotoScapeX

Now for the chicken parmesan nothing too different other than using Burrata cheese instead of mozzarella, need I say more about the best cheese…

Serve chicken with a side of fresh marinara over angel hair pasta and a nice garden salad.

A good chicken farm recipe is just a matter of finding a good go to recipe and that alone might take a little experimentation so I will provide one link that might be useful.  As for me I can make chicken parmesan in my sleep especially when I have a great marinara ready to go.  I like to use buttermilk in the egg wash and I suppose that got that from good old southern fried chicken.  I always season each and every dredging component, eggs, flour, and I have a standard crumb mix that includes grated lemon zest and grated cheese.

So there is a little prep work involved, but the chicken can be prepared in the morning, sautéed after several hours rest in the fridge, sauced and cheesed before baking.