Fresh Okra, Stewed

iPhoto

PhotoScapeXNow for my second installment of summer vegetables from the farm stand.

I love okra the freshest possible in the summer months, I eat it as often as I can and then freeze some for the winter.  Now that I can get fresh I am using up some of the frozen, tonight stewed okra with fresh tomatoes with a little Zing Zang’s…

I recall a day last summer when Marisa and Jacob were here for their annual summer visit, my neighbors grands joined s for an impromptu poolside cookout and I grilled Smokestack’s wings and fresh okra, amazing so kids in the South eat okra and I was so proud of Jake (just a little finicky) was keeping up with the others faster that I could pluck the okra off the grill.  Oh yea, he ate several wings…can’t wait to see them in July and spring a surprise or two on them…

Now back to okra and a rather simple version tonight with just a few items, 3 slices of applewood bacon, crisped to which I add 1 small chopped onion, sautéed  for a couple of minutes adding chopped garlic and a heaping pint plus of fresh red and yellow tomatoes.  Cook down for 4 minutes or so, stirring in a teaspoon of Slap ya Mama Cajun seasoning, 1/2 teaspoon of pepper, and a can of Rotel MILD canned tomatoes.  Simmer for 5-7 minutes and add 8 ounces of Zing Zang’s bloody Mary mix or spicy V-8 and simmer for 20-30 minutes or until sauce is thickened.   Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve with anything or just a pan of hot cornbread.

Nope I don’t anticipate Jacob taste testing this, but his sister and Momma will!