Sunday Soup & Fall Apples

“A gourmet who thinks of calories is like a tart who looks at her watch.”
~ James Beard

Mom's Apple CakePeppered Honey Pecans

Fall Apple Cake and Peppered Honey Pecans

With Sunday’s soup finished and resting in the refrigerator I felt that I could actually take on a dessert for Sunday dinner with friends.  September screams football Sundays and a dive into fall cooking hopefully this gentle fall touch will direct me to explore other family style, basic, and rustic dinners that I have planned for the fall season.  So as I get a little down time with my favorite team, the Washington Redskins, the house has a wonderful baked apple aroma…Mom’s Apple Cake is baking and a tray of honey toasted peppered pecans for nibbles is ready.  

Olive Garden Soup

Michael has been bugging me to make the Olive Garden style pasta fagiole again and what could be better with that bowl of soup than some copy cat OG breadsticks, simple ingredients etched in my mind and for some reason I have never had a failure batch of breadsticks.  I brushed the breadsticks with melted butter, granulated garlic and lightly sprinkled Italian seasoning.   A big salad is all that we need to complete the family style meal.PhotoScapeXI found an intriguing recipe for a Maple walnut ice cream, but I didn’t have the maple extract called for and paired with the robust dark maple syrup it seemed that the ice cream would be too strong with maple flavor.   After a taste of the finished custard I found that it had a very mellow maple flavor, perfectly acceptable.    I am not a huge fan of walnuts with the exception of the red ones that I get from a California grower.  I used the last of the honey pecans that a friend brought to me and it seems like a good swap…issues, the custard did not freeze in my Cuisinart ice cream maker and I put it into a container to freeze (all of the nuts rose to the top), but the ice cream was okay enough to serve with the cake.

Welcome fall…Mom’s Apple Cake link:

Fall 2015

http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2008/09/moms-apple-cake/