Golden Chicken Soup with Fresh Chin Slapper Noodle Ribbons AKA Italian Chicken Pastry

Ribbons of Noodles

Ever notice that Soup for One is eight aisles away from Party Mix?
Elayne Boosler

There is always a pot of soup on the menu after I roast a chicken and with the luscious goodness of the wine braised chicken to start with the broth certainly will take on a hearty/homey flavor.  I traipsed through the slowly dying path of herbs and gathered gnarly flavorful remnants and vowed to myself to heavily mulch the bay leaf plants so as not to lose them this winter, I love fresh bay leaves!   Sprigs of parsley, onion chives, tiny basil leaves and sprigs of thyme ready for the pot along with ribs of celery, cut carrots, a few garlic cloves, diced onions, shallots a few black peppercorns and that wonderful piece of cheese rind that puts the Italian in my chicken soup.  Add a few fresh large diced tomatoes and that is my chicken soup!  If your soup needs a boost, use a pod of Knorr concentrated stock…

Chicken Stock

I’m all about the broth, cooked carrots, tomatoes and noodles with just a few shreds of chicken, most people prefer chunks of chicken, lots of noodles, no problem it is your soup when you make it!

Golden Chicken Noodle Soup
The noodles for the chicken soup were sheets of the thin tender lasagna sheets that I had frozen and thawed, brushed with a little egg wash, dusted with grated cheese, fresh basil, pepper and a pinch of nutmeg.  I let the noodle pile sit on a board while I shared a chat with cats, dogs, oh and a human friend and later enjoyed a piping hot bowl of golden chicken soup.   The noodles didn’t need a moment of boiling time in the broth as it was so hot it took just a couple of minutes for the thin noodles to “cook” to the desired perfect al dente.  Stir the last of the egg wash into the soup.  Serve piping with extra grated cheese…