Don’t Skimp on the Shrimp

“Great balls of fire. Don’t bother me anymore, and don’t call me sugar.”
~ Margaret Mitchell ~

Shrim New Orleans, Plantation StyleI don’t have a tremendous amount to do for Thanksgiving dinner, just my usual side dishes for a large gathering where everyone brings a side dish and none us are completely stressed.  I always make the oyster dressing and the cranberries and I don’t mess with an established good thing.  I do however still try to do as much ahead of time as possible and today I spent time prepping the bread cubes for the dressing and making a batch of  grated crumbs for the English turkey stuffing for another night.  Next, cranberries with a wonderful blend of apples, oranges and pecans to name a few of the add-ins.
So with a few chores behind me and a pile of knitting to do I can honestly say 
the I am dedicated to easy dinners for the most part this week and next…yesterday an old family recipe rescue from the 70’s, New Orleans Shrimp Plantation Style served with rice or pasta, today with pasta.  The peeled and deveined shrimp are sautéed quickly in herb garlic butter, lots of butter so one can dip fresh French bread into, so as not to waste it right?  You shouldn’t be surprised when there are no leftovers.

Serve over rice or pasta for a more substantial meal, but just the shrimp, bread and a salad was perfect for me and because I didn’t gobble down the entire pound I have enough left for dinner tonight…back when we used to make this recipe there were very few fresh herbs available and I’ll always recall the flavor with dried herbs, but today with an abundance of fresh herbs available, several of which I need to use in the next few days adds more color and a touch of added freshness to the dish.  Enjoy the old-fashioned large index card, very sophisticated considering most recipes were stashed on a grocery store receipt.
*T. = tablespoon, I added more parsley, fresh rosemary and basil.  I used 4 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons EVOO.  A pinch or two of Slap Ya Mama Cajun seasoning doesn’t hurt.

NewOrleans Shrimp - Plantation Style
Shrimp