Seared Scallops with Asparagus & Candied Bacon

Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful.
Norman Vincent Peale
Mantle 5
Maple Dijon candied bacon is such a great treat for bacon lovers and tonight shards of it adorn my asparagus and scallops for yet another easy dinner.  The bacon takes time (about 30 minutes and can be made early), but well worth it in the end…I never make a full pound as suggested unless it is for a party of more than 2!  There are so many recipes to choose from, but I love the one from “Clever Carrot”, I certainly wouldn’t categorize it as healthy though…

I severely adapted a recipe (Asparagus with Scallops and Brown Butter) from Food & Wine so I will get that recipe together and post it soon, but for now I am testing out new recipes for my traditional Christmas Eve which is always seafood and lets face it, times change and I’m always up for something new that might become a new tradition.

Seard Scallops with asparagus and candied bacon

I think that my clam sauce will be on the menu, as well as a fabulous salad, but I’m not sure of the main seafood dish yet…there will not be 7 fishes unless I make my favorite cioppino and with just a few of us for dinner not necessary!  So this is my second maybe dinner, the others being the lobster that is really a casual messy dinner and if I can get Bronzino, that just might seal the deal as I’ve had enough fried fish that I care to recall…oops as I say that I think of my dad’s favorite fried smelts, boned of course and I might get my hands on a few!

So stay tuned for just about anything at this point!  Votes welcome.

http://www.theclevercarrot.com/2012/12/maple-candied-bacon/