Not your Mama’s Pimento Cheese

Southern women know their elegant gentlemen:
Men in uniform
Men in tuxedos
Rhett Butler

Pimento Cheese

While I never grew up knowing the classic pimento cheese, but after staring at it 23 years ago I have certainly learned to like it and make my own version.  OMG there are some pretty nasty ones out there in the ready-made stuff, tastes so artificial and not sure that I can identify a real ingredient in them.  I have several recipes for pimento cheese and the one below is the one that I usually make  to have on hand during the Christmas holidays a bit more tangy with the addition of jarred drained peppadew peppers and of course you can make your own changes to the recipe.  I like two cheddars together, but I often make it with just white Vermont cheddar.

The history of pimento cheese is interesting and I’ve attached a link below:


Pimento Cheese – throughly bend and serve with assorted crackers and crudités platter
2 cups of grated sharp cheddar
1/3 cup peppadew peppers, finely diced
2/3 cup roasted red peppers, diced
4 ounces soft cream cheese
4 tablespoons homemade mayo (Duke’s is acceptable)
¼ cup yellow onion, finely diced…briefly sauté to soften or 1/4 onion, grated
finely chopped chives 3-4 tablespoon
1 clove if garlic put through a garlic press
*optional green onions
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
Pinches of white pepper
Pinch of cayenne
Pinches of sweet paprika or smoked paprika
A little hot sauce taste

http://www.seriouseats.com/2014/09/history-southern-food-pimento-cheese.html