Quinoa Asian – Style with Stir Fried Vegetables

“I like to abide by the seasons and let the natural flavor in food speak for itself. I use quick cooking techniques of high heat with very little fat, such as quick saute or wok stir-frying.”
Author: Cat Cora
Stir fry and QuinoaIt has been quite an interesting week around here and all in all I have adapted to my temporary handicap, or so I would like to think.  I actually wrote a menu list which is scaled back from my usual sometimes, tedious prep and cooking.  Lowe’s foods to go has become my a new planning tool for my menu planning and tonight it did not fail me, I checked for the ingredients before hand and Mike picked it all up for me.   While simple, a bag of prepped stir-fry vegetables and a couple other small items and I was ready to toss together a simple dinner of quinoa and vegetables for myself…Michael would request meat or poultry tossed into the mix.  It was quite the experience and as for the rest of the upcoming menu it is homestyle oriented with something smothered and something chicken fried with appropriate sides and I know Michael would enjoy that  for a change.  We shall see what comes out of the pan tomorrow.
Asian Quinoa 2I love quinoa and an interesting recipe from Chocolate & Zucchini popped into my mail box last week and while I made a few small adjustments, the recipe is a good simple recipe for anyone that enjoys a good bowl of Asian-style quinoa.  Link below to C&Z recipe…I adjusted the amount of sesame oil, reduced it a bit, used equal parts shallots and onion, and used honey instead of the brown sugar.

The premixed California blend of stir-fry vegetables was okay and a good starting point, but I missed bean sprouts and peppers, but  I did add some freshly sliced bok choy and green onions.  Prepare your favorite blend of stir fry with or without meat add your recipe as a side dish to Asian style quinoa…

Ingredients:

1 cup) uncooked quinoa your favorite combination or plain
1/2 tablespoon minced fresh ginger (add more if you want more ginger)
1 large shallot, diced and an equal amount of diced red or sweet onion
*optional large clove of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon sesame oil
3 tablespoons sake
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon  brown sugar or honey
A pinch of ground chili flakes

Instructions
1.  Cook the quinoa according to packaged directions ( I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken or vegetable broth).  Remove from the heat, cover, and let rest for at least 10 minutes or more.
While the quinoa is simmering, peel and grate the ginger, then peel and dice the shallots.
2.  Heat the sesame oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Add the ginger and shallots and cook for 3 minutes, stirring frequently, until softened. Stir in the sake. When it has evaporated, add the soy sauce, sugar, ground chili, and 1/4 cup) water. Simmer for 2 minutes, until slightly thickened. Remove from the heat.
3.  When the quinoa is ready, add it to the skillet and stir to coat. Serve warm, topped with tofu or soft-center hard-boiled eggs.  I love fried tofu for this dish…

http://chocolateandzucchini.com/recipes/vegetables-grains/japanese-inspired-quinoa-recipe/