Curtis’ Stroganoff Gone Wild

stroganoff 2“The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude.”
~ Julia Child ~

My intention was to make a quick Curtis Stone version of Stroganoff, but in the end I went out on my own for a quick version…not my usual fabulous Julia version, but good nonetheless as well as quick and easy.  While it was easy I prefer a full flavored, beefy tedious version always worth the effort.

It was one of those days that just got away from me and before I knew it was time to make dinner I found two little filets in the freezer, took them out to thaw a bit then realized that it was dinner for one night, but I never have a problem getting rid of leftovers around here, especially beef stroganoff. I fully intended to make Curtis’ version of Stroganoff, but in the end I went out on my own for a quick version…

The confusion began with two of his recipes, reviewed one of which was, shall I say, lacking if the lady made what she followed.  Half way into the recipe read I decided to take a look back at the recipes listed and sure enough there were two different recipes, similar, but one did not add the beef stock!  What?  No wonder she was not happy! Where’s the sauce? In the end I abandoned the recipe altogether…

When I read her review on this dish and how disappointed she was, I couldn’t help but think two things, did she ever have stroganoff or make it before she tried the recipe and did she taste it along the way to see if she could add something to boost the flavor like beef broth or stock? Stroganoff is a simple fabulous dish that benefits greatly from a few simple changes or additions if you find it as she said to be “flavorless and boring”.

I have been making stroganoff for many years and not one version has been boring or bland and this recipe of Curtis Stone’s needed just a few simple adjustments. Since I adjusted a few things after tasting given the list of ingredients (the first one) that sorely lacked that beefy boost of flavor that a bit of hearty stock, a dab of Dijon mustard and a touch of Worcestershire sauce would certainly have improved the flavor for her.

So with that said, I gathered up a combination of onions, shallots and garlic that had been left from previous recipe and started out to make the easy weeknight stroganoff. I also had a package or two of assorted mushrooms to the mix…

Stroganoff

Here is the recipe that I didn’t quite follow…Curtis Stone’s Easy Stroganoff adapted
1 tbsp Olive Oil
500 g Beef Stir-fry Strips…I used two small filets, thinly sliced
150 g Diced Onions
200 g cup mushrooms, sliced…1-package assorted sliced mushrooms
2 tsp ground Paprika
2 tbsp tomato Paste
300 ml Thickened Cream
2 x 250 g pets dried Tagliatelle or pappardelle
2 tbsp Chopped Chives

Heat 1 tsp of the oil in a large, deep frying pan. Stir-fry ¹/3 of the beef over medium-high heat for about 3 mins, or until well-browned. Transfer to a plate. Cook meat in two more batches, adding a little oil each time. Set aside.

Add remaining oil to pan and cook onion for 5 mins over medium heat, or until soft and lightly golden. Add mushrooms and cook, stirring, for about 3 mins, or until soft. Stir in paprika, tomato paste and cream until evenly combined, then return beef to the pan to heat through.

Meanwhile, cook pasta in a large pot of salted, boiling water according to the directions on the packet, until al dente. Drain well. Serve beef mixture over noodles, sprinkled with chives.

Other versions that I have prepared:  https://ibbeachnana.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/beef-stroganoff/

Another link to JC’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking:  http://channelingjulia.blogspot.com/2012/02/my-favorite-julia-recipe-so-far.html