Grilled Asian Chicken Salad

Asian Grilled Chicken Salad 3“Chicken salad has a certain glamour about it. Like the little black dress, it is chic and adaptable anywhere.”  Laurie Colwin, ‘Home Cooking’ (1988)

I was excited to try out a few recipes from Curtis Stone (link below) and I’m having a bit of fun exploring new and different takes on favorite dishes so yesterday I plucked an Asian grilled chicken salad recipe from the list of his recipes to try.  That was dinner and it was really good, but I did add a few extra squirts of Sriracha sauce a couple of cloves of garlic and a splash of Ponzu sauce to the soy ginger sauce.  The chicken breasts marinated for about 45 minutes to 1 hour and once patted dry I seared them in a grill pan and finished in a 350ºoven.  The chicken rested for 15 or so minutes before slicing,

For the salad I shredded Napa cabbage and Romaine lettuce and added all kinds of goodies that I found in the vegetable bin including puree radishes.  Just pick your favorite Asian salad ingredients, nuts, bean sprouts, snow peas or edamame, and garnish with fresh Thai or other basil and cilantro.  Had I remembered the wonton wrappers I would have added a few crispy strips to the salad for another bit of crunchy.  A new favorite salad from Curtis.

Marinade, use 3 Tablespoons to marinate and save the rest as dressing for salad.
¼ c. reduced-sodium soy sauce (I added 1/8th cup Premium dark soy which is very thick and thinned it down with the same amount of Tamari)
2 cloves minced garlic
3 tbsp. canola oil
2 tbsp. hoisin sauce
1 tbsp. toasted sesame oil
*a drizzle of honey or agave if you need to sweeten it up
1 tsp. Sriracha sauce…I added a bit more, but be careful, taste first
1 tsp. kosher salt (I didn’t add any salt the soy is salty enough!)
2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
¼ c. red wine vinegar, but I liked rice wine vinegar
¼ c. minced scallions
SALAD
1 lb. Napa cabbage
2 carrots
3 scallions
Garnishes:  ⅔ c. slivered almonds, toasted
1 tsp. white sesame seeds, toasted
1 tsp. black sesame seeds
and a little shredded basil and cilantro

 Build your salad and refrigerate until serving time…I used a little zester over a flat side of a carrot, nice little shreds, marinate the chicken breasts for 45 minutes to 1 hour in 3 tablespoons of the dressing/marinade reserve the rest to drizzle some over the finished salad.   Sear in hot grill pan or grill until temperature reaches 160º, rest.  The chicken breasts were large so I finished them in the oven for a few minutes.  Very lightly dress the salad and top with slices of grilled chicken and other garnishes.

link to Curtis’ recipe:

http://www.redbookmag.com/food-recipes/recipes/g1638/curtis-stone-recipes/?slide=5